Skip to main content

RCD Mallorca B register first win of 2020 with 1-0 victory over CD Ferriolense

Substitute Javier Albin’s free-kick is the difference at Ciudad Deportiva Antonio Asensio

Javier Albin’s free-kick gave RCD Mallorca B their first three points of 2020 as we overcame CD Ferriolense 1-0 at Ciudad Deportiva Antonio Asensio. 

Having started the new year with a 3-3 draw against Sant Rafael, Julián Robles made three changes to his starting XI. Elias was handed his second start of the campaign and replaced Jesus Ruiz in goal, while Fode and Raul Parra were selected in favour of Andreu Arasa and Carlos Gilbert.

Our first game back at home following the winter break started well enough even if it failed to yield an opening goal as neat interplay between the forward line forced visiting goalkeeper Jose Alfonso to save Oscar Coll’s early attempt.

Alfonso had to be at his best minutes later, producing an unorthodox save with his trailing leg to deny Adrian Montalban from point blank range following a goal-mouth scramble.

The attacking midfielder was inches away from breaking the deadlock before the half-hour mark, racing in-behind the Ferriolense defence to fire over the bar

Jaume Tovar, Enric Martinez and Coll went close before the interval, but come the referee’s whistle, the score remained level.

It didn’t take long for us to open the scoring following the restart as just five minutes into the second-half Javier Albin curled a free-kick from the edge of the box into the top corner.

The strike seemed to take the sting out of proceedings as we looked to take control of the match, and despite dominating possession, we were unable to create anything in the final third.

With the visitors unable to register a single shot in the second half and ending the match with 10 men following Hector Pons’ red card in added time, we saw out our lead to take all three points.

RCD Mallorca B: Elias, Parra, Gonzalez, Hernandez, Ocaña (46’), Martinez, Giaquinto, Coll (46’), Montalban, Fode (60’), Tovar

Substitutes: Jesus, Prada, Omar, Arasa, Gilbert (46’), Albin (46’), Jaime De Las Marinas Gil (60’)

Goals: Javier Albin (50’)