Skip to main content

Match Report: Granada CF 4-1 RCD Mallorca

We end the year with a defeat at the Nuevo Los Cármenes

We ended the year with a frustrating 4-1 defeat at Granada CF as head into 2022 in 14th position with 20 points from 18 games. 

Luis García Plaza made nine changes to the side which beat UD Llanera 6-0 in the Copa del Rey as Take Kubo and Aleksandar Sedlar were the only players to retain their places in the starting XI.

Despite our good start, Jorge Molina put the hosts ahead against the run of play in the 20th minute when the striker curled home his strike following a quick turnover of possession. 

We hit back immediately and levelled matters just four minutes later courtesy of a Dani Rodríguez header after the midfielder had timed a late run into the box well to meet Jaume Costa’s cross unmarked.

Manolo Reina breathed a sigh of relief when Luis Suárez fired over the bar with the goal at his mercy in the 29th minute, before Herman Sanchez crashed a header against the woodwork moments later. 

We managed to weather the storm and headed into the break level with a big 45 minutes ahead of us.

Once again unable to capitalise on our good start, Molina got his second of the game in the 61st minute when he got hold of a previously fumbled effort and fired past Reina from close range.

The chances would be few and far between for the remainder of the match, although we were unlucky not to grab a late equaliser through Fer Nino in the 89th minute. The striker was unfortunately unable to get his connection onto Brian Oliván’s low cross on target.

Chasing the leveller and throwing men forward on the offensive, Molina completed his hat-trick and Antonio Puertas struck in added time to kill any hope of a late comeback.

Granada CF: Maximiano, Gonalons, Milla, Germán, Luis Suárez, Antonio Puertas, Machís, Neva, Quini, Molina, Torrente

Substitutes: Aarón, Arias, Escudero, Soro, Yan Eteki, Monchu, Víctor Díaz, Abram, Bacca, Isma Ruíz, Butzke

RCD Mallorca: Manolo Reina, Maffeo (67'), Sedlar, Valjent, Jaume Costa (79'), Baba, R. De Galarreta (67'), Take, Dani Rodríguez, Kang-In Lee (60'), Ángel (80')

Substitutes: F. Quetglas, Leo Roman, B. Oliván (79'), Febas, Mboula, Salva Sevilla (67'), Abdón (80'), Antonio Sánchez (60'), Battaglia, Fer Niño (67'), Gayà, Javi Llabrés

Goals: Jorge Molina, 1-0 (20'); Dani Rodríguez, 1-1 (24'); Jorge Molina, 2-1 (61'); Jorge Molina, 3-1 (90'), Montoro, 4-1 (90')